top of page

Dean Matthews Releases Book Two of the Foundation Stone Series

The Shadow and the Shards: Book two of the Foundation Stone Series has been released worldwide. Written by Dean Matthews, three formats are now available on Amazon. The Dark Taal – the first book of the Foundation Stone series received rave reviews and was loved by fans.

Picking up from Book one, the story starts when the entire school is in chaos and tension is in the air. It is revealed that head wizard Almagest's death may not have been an accident. The creature has vanished, but everything is still not back to normal. After clues to the whereabouts of the feared Firebrand shards are discovered, Kuelack, along with the disinherited Dragonlord Ramus, sets out to find the shards. Meanwhile, Kuelack’s sadistic and power-hungry wife, Gradine, sets out to kill and imprison the Bruins and their friends. With each piece they unearth, Kuelack and especially Ramus begin to question why the shards are considered a terror and exactly why they are feared. With the intention of spoiling Kuelack's plans, Ramus starts looking for the Balefires, a powerful sect of witches that the shards have no influence over. But his plans fail to succeed, and Kuelack’s plans proceed unaposed. The young Aridain Bruin, the boy who was born into the world with the task of seeking and destroying the stones, stumbles across four pretty green stones hidden beneath the roots of a tree.

With the Dark Taal once again inexorably drawn to Aridain, the struggle for control of the Firebrand shards continues in the second book.

“I love the genre fantasy. I think it’s my love for this genre that fuels the Foundation Stone series. Just like book one, book two is filled with adventure and magic”, said the author Deal Matthew.

The Shadow and the Shards: Book two of the Foundation Stone Series is another page-turner from the author of The Dark Taal. This book will surely keep the readers glued till the end.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page